Tag Archives: Margaret A. Edwards

The Edwards Award, 2013

23 Apr

The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author and his or her specific body of work for significant and lasting contribution to teen literature. The winner this year is Tamora Pierce for Song of the Lioness quartet and The Protector of the Small quartet.

The four books in the Song of the Lioness series are Alanna: The First Adventure; In the Hand of the Goddess; The Woman Who Rides Like a Man; and Lioness Rampant. This series focuses on Alanna’s journey to accept herself both as a woman and a warrior.

“Alanna:  The First Adventure”    “In the Hand of the Goddess"  "The Woman Who Rides Like a Man”  “Lioness Rampant”

Also set in Tortall, two decades later, is the Protector of the Small quartet, First Test; Page; Squire; and Lady Knight.  Keladry of Mindelan goes through struggles, from her First Test, then becoming a Page, a Squire and eventually a Lady Knight.

“First Test”  Page  Squire  Lady Knight


The Edwards Award

28 Jul

The  Margaret A. Edwards Award, more commonly known as the Edwards Award, was established in 1988 to honor an author and their specific body of work in YA literature. The 2012 winner is Susan Cooper for The Dark Is Rising Sequence.

Cooper incorporates Celtic and Arthurian mythology and world-building in a high stakes battle between good and evil, embodied in the coming of age journey of Will Stanton. This series chronicles his adventures as the last of the immortal Old Ones, as he acquires the Things of Power for the Light in its climactic battle with the Dark. This series was originally published between 1966 and 1977 and has remained an inspiration for many generations. (ala.org)

Click here for reviews and more information through amazon.com.