The Edwards Award, 2013

23 Apr

The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author and his or her specific body of work for significant and lasting contribution to teen literature. The winner this year is Tamora Pierce for Song of the Lioness quartet and The Protector of the Small quartet.

The four books in the Song of the Lioness series are Alanna: The First Adventure; In the Hand of the Goddess; The Woman Who Rides Like a Man; and Lioness Rampant. This series focuses on Alanna’s journey to accept herself both as a woman and a warrior.

“Alanna:  The First Adventure”    “In the Hand of the Goddess"  "The Woman Who Rides Like a Man”  “Lioness Rampant”

Also set in Tortall, two decades later, is the Protector of the Small quartet, First Test; Page; Squire; and Lady Knight.  Keladry of Mindelan goes through struggles, from her First Test, then becoming a Page, a Squire and eventually a Lady Knight.

“First Test”  Page  Squire  Lady Knight

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: