Archive | November, 2012

Katya’s World, Book Trailer

30 Nov

Chasing the Bear, Review

26 Nov

Chasing the Bear by Robert B. Parker

Plot: Spencer tells about his childhood where he grew up with the strongest men in town and helped friends in school and around town. He saves his friend and helps a boy with a bully issue.

Would you recommend this book? Yes. This book is very good. I read it in just a short time.

5 stars

–David

Breaking Dawn, Part 2–The Saga Ends

21 Nov

Hey Twilight fans…have you gotten your tickets yet for the final movie, or do you have plans to go see it over the Thanksgiving break? Enjoy your days off and eat lots of great food!

Don’t Turn Around, Book Trailer

16 Nov

Beautiful Creatures…coming soon!

13 Nov

The Beautiful Creatures series by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl will have its first title released in theaters on February 13, 2013. This series includes four books total: Beautiful Creatures, Beautiful Darkness, Beautiful Chaos, and Beautiful Redemption. Click here to see the official trailer and find out more information!

Have you read them yet?

Legend, Review

12 Nov

Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

Plot: Far into the future, the United States has split and is once more involved in Civil War. Two teens will find out just how far their side is willing to go when a murder forces them together.

At first glance, this is just another dystopian novel trying to piggyback off of the success of the Hunger Games trilogy. The first part of the story smacked of being written by a new author-questionable reality of plot and character (but a wonderful setting.) Then something unexpected happened. The plot picked up, the pieces fell into place, and I was left wondering how I ever could have assumed anything about the novel.

Would you recommend this book? Yes.

5 stars

–Sarah

Finale, Book Trailer

9 Nov

The conclusion to the bestselling Hush, Hush saga.

The Hunger Pains: A Parody

7 Nov

If you liked the Hunger Games (or even if you didn’t like them) you might enjoy this parody written by the Harvard Lampoon. From Amazon.com:

Winning means wealth, fame, and a life of therapy; losing means death, but also fame! This is the Hunger Pains.

When Kantkiss Neverclean replaces her sister as a contestant on the Hunger Pains-the second-highest-rated reality TV show in Peaceland, behind Extreme Home Makeover- she has no idea what to expect. Having lived her entire life in the telemarketing district’s worst neighborhood, the Crack, Kantkiss feels unprepared to fight to the death while simultaneously winking and looking adorable for the cameras. But when her survival rests on choosing between the dreamy hunk from home, Carol Handsomestein, or the doughy klutz, Pita Malarkey, Kantkiss discovers that the toughest conflicts may not be found on the battlefield but in her own heart . . . which is unfortunately on a battlefield.

The Humming Room, Review

5 Nov

The Humming Room by Ellen Potter

Plot: In a falling-apart family, Roo Fanshaw’s talent is hiding. When her dad and dad’s girlfriend are killed, the time was right to be hiding under the mobile home. When she’s found, she’s sent to her wealthy uncle on Cough Rock Island. Everything there is weird, but when she finds a secret garden room, not everything’s so boring. Will Roo be able to solve many mysteries about the house and keep the exotic garden alive?

Would you recommend this book? Yes. I finished it in one day!

5 stars

–Maddie

The Paladin Prophecy, Book Trailer

2 Nov

For readers of I Am Number Four, The Maze Runner, and Legend.