The Edwards Award

28 Jul

The  Margaret A. Edwards Award, more commonly known as the Edwards Award, was established in 1988 to honor an author and their specific body of work in YA literature. The 2012 winner is Susan Cooper for The Dark Is Rising Sequence.

Cooper incorporates Celtic and Arthurian mythology and world-building in a high stakes battle between good and evil, embodied in the coming of age journey of Will Stanton. This series chronicles his adventures as the last of the immortal Old Ones, as he acquires the Things of Power for the Light in its climactic battle with the Dark. This series was originally published between 1966 and 1977 and has remained an inspiration for many generations. (

Click here for reviews and more information through


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: